RSS

‘King’ Arthur – Folklore, Fact & Fiction

09 Jun

eBook_CoverA European and Scandinavian arena tour, movie and TV series since my last blog, and I’m finally able to get down to trying and finish the ebook. If only I could stop finding more books, articles and papers on all the related subjects it would be finished by now!

The information it will contain, whilst based on these blogs, has expanded and morphed somewhat in the intervening months. Some of my opinions and conclusions have changed whilst others have been confirmed even more. It has been an incredible and ever educating journey, not only into all aspects of the figure that became known as King Arthur, but the period in general. I have read far more extensively on the subjects of the Anglo-Saxons as well as being helped by two of Guy Halsall’s books: Warfare and Society in the Barbarian West 450-900 and his latest, Worlds of Arthur: Facts and Fictions of the Dark Ages. There have been many other works, too numerous to mention, that have helped me shape my ideas and come to an even more informed opinion … well, as informed as you can get about the Early Middle Ages.

The whole reason for these blogs, and then the book, were as an extremely detailed research document to assist me with a screen- or teleplay idea. In some ways it hasn’t helped at all as it’s given me even more options! However, there is no rush on that front as I don’t think it’s the right climate for yet another Arthurian TV production. When it is, I hope to be poised.

I am still planning to put online the chapter that looks at the Historia Brittonum and the infamous Arthurian battle list as a pdf document for a limited time. I’ve taken a slightly different approach to this subject and rather than trying to locate where any of the Arthurian battles may have occurred (if he existed and they happened,) I’m concentrating on where those in the different regions of Britain of the Early-9th century, when this worked appeared, may have thought them to have been?

It’s not all ‘history’ though, and Part One looks at the mythical or folkloric Arthur and whether or not he was inspired by an Arthur who fought at Badon; was a historicized mythical figure who became attached to Badon; , or if these two characters were related only in name, just as those Arthurs of the 6th and 7th centuries were: Artúr (Arturius) mac Áedán, Artúr mac Coaning, Arthur ap PedrArtúr filio Bicoir and, possibly, Arthur Penuchel. (I actually look at all the known ‘Arthurs’ from the 2nd to the 15th century).

Well, I can’t stay here all day blogging, I have a book to finish!

Thanks for reading,

Mak Wilson

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “‘King’ Arthur – Folklore, Fact & Fiction

  1. ritaroberts

    June 9, 2013 at 12:42 pm

    I keep reading your blogs about Arthur and it gets more complicated. What a lot of research hours you have put into it so I must thank you for sharing your work. Good luck with your book and hopefully a film.

     
  2. badonicus

    June 9, 2013 at 1:11 pm

    Thanks Rita. Yes, it is complicated. There’s no straightforward answer to the question of Arthur. The book goes into more detail about the period as well, so hopefully it will be of interest to those who aren’t really bothered whether or not there was an Arthur of Badon.

     
  3. esmeraldamac

    June 10, 2013 at 9:29 am

    I’m liking the plural, Mak! :)

    It sounds like a very comprehensive book on the period and its events, and I hope those who take a less well-researched approach take the time to read your book and fill your pockets with cash.

     
    • badonicus

      June 12, 2013 at 9:28 am

      Doubt if I’ll make much money from it Diane, but it’s certainly been very useful for me, if no one else!

       
  4. calmgrove

    July 30, 2013 at 9:12 pm

    Followed you here from esmeraldamac’s blog, but had problems posting a comment as Akismet kept sending most of my comments on blogs to spam. Now sorted, fingers crossed.

    Anyway, like you I’ve been a little obsessed with Arthur for some time and, again like you, have been putting notes together for that summative statement. In the meantime I’ve been posting old and new reviews of relevant books on my blog, some of which are listed here: http://calmgrove.wordpress.com/arthuriana/

    Hope to steadily go through your posts and possibly comment, but it will be a steady progress!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 108 other followers

