RSS

Arthurian ebook update

12 Jul

Yes, still working on it. I’d hoped to have had it out by now but decided to change the format, which, of course, had a knock-on effect. A video editing deadline has also prevented me from doing as much as I would have liked to have done, but I have three weeks holiday coming up, in which time out hope to complete it … ‘hope’ being the operative word!

I’m also still playing around with the title, and, as you can see by the image, it’s currently called ‘King’ Arthur – Folklore, Fact and Fiction, with the subtitle of ‘An exploration of the Arthurs of early history, folklore & mythology‘. (Arthurs, plural, referring to not only an Arthur of Badon, but the one of mythology, topography and fiction, Arcturus (Arktouros), Lucius Artorius CastusArtúr mac Áedán, Artúr mac Coaning, Arthur ap Pedr, Artuir filio Bicoir, Artharus rig Cruthni, Artur mac Bruide, Arthur Penuchel and other Breton Arthurs). If there are any better suggestions out there for a title, I’m very willing to hear them.

I have been expanding the section on the Historia Brittonum (H.B.) and the 12 supposed battles of Arthur after coming across several papers and books that I hadn’t read before. These don’t so much go into where the battles might have been but cover more about the political and ecclesiastical situation at the time the book was compiled and how they affected the work’s outcome. In my ebook I’m actually more interested in where the H.B.’s readers, both British and English, may have thought the battles to have been at the time. They probably had as many arguments about them as we do! I also discuss what rumblings there might have been to the Arthurian section of the H.B. if, as suggested by the likes of Nicholas HIgham and Thomas Green, they were made up for the purpose? If these battles were mostly news to its readers, there must have been some kind of reaction. I may post this chapter either as a multipart  blog, or as a link to the PDF version of it in the near future. This will depend on time.

I am most grateful to historian and author Tim Clarkson* for mentioning the ebook over at his Senchus blogsite. I am indeed honoured.

Until the next time,

Mak

*Not wanting to appear like a creep, but I would thoroughly recommend all three of Tim’s books: ‘Men of the North: the Britons of Southern Scotland’, ‘The Picts: a history and ‘The Makers of Scotland: Picts, Romans, Gaels and Vikings’.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

10 responses to “Arthurian ebook update

  1. ritaroberts

    July 13, 2012 at 7:02 am

    Hi. I think your book title is perfect.
    I thought of a few other titles but kept coming back to yours.

     
  2. chris y

    July 25, 2012 at 12:40 pm

    Mak, have you read Simon Stirling’s curious article in History Today this month, in which he seems to present it as conclusively demonstrated that Artúr mac Áedán is the original of the character in the Matter of Britain? It would be interesting to see your response to it.

     
    • badonicus

      August 10, 2012 at 9:22 pm

      I’m still reading Simon’s book and will give a full response when I’ve finished it.

       
  3. Tim

    August 10, 2012 at 9:18 pm

    Hi Mak. I agree with Rita about the title of your e-book – no need to change it.

    I’d like to read ‘Arthur and the Church’, the History Today article mentioned by Chris. Over at his blog Simon Stirling says he’ll post a link to it from there, but I’m not sure how long it takes for HT articles to appear online.

     
    • badonicus

      August 10, 2012 at 9:25 pm

      I’m still reading his book Tim, and whilst I have a ways to go yet, I’m still not convinced by his arguments and especially the way they’re presented. Maybe that will change by the end of the book?

       
    • badonicus

      August 24, 2012 at 6:26 pm

      Having almost completed Simon’s book I can see nothing in his arguments that Artúr mac Áedán was either the original Arthur or was the basis for the myth. In fact, I found it really hard to read a great deal of the time because it was making me so annoyed by the way in which theories and speculation were presented as fact. Nor are there any counter-arguments shown to these theories. This means that anyone new to the subject will take it on face value and wonder why no one else had thought of this before!

       
    • badonicus

      May 19, 2013 at 7:48 pm

      Hi Tim. Just to say that I still exist and I am still working on the ebook. Luckily for me I have been very busy work-wise the past nine month, but it has left me very little time and energy to do anything else. I’m trying to do bits here and there and maybe I’ll complete the book later in the year.

      Hope all is well with you. Any new books for me to look forward to?

       
  4. Verlene

    April 29, 2013 at 11:37 pm

    Greetings from Carolina! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to check out your blog on my iphone during lunch break. I really like the info you provide here and can’t wait to take a
    look when I get home. I’m shocked at how quick your blog loaded on my phone .. I’m
    not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, superb blog!

     
    • badonicus

      May 19, 2013 at 7:42 pm

      Thank you Verlene. I’m not able to blog much at the moment because of other commitments, but I am working on an ebook based on the blogs here.

      Mak

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 108 other followers

