RSS

King Arthur – Man, Myth … or Both? – The eBook

01 Apr

I’m currently putting together two of my blogs - ‘In Search Of The ‘Original’ King Arthur. and ‘King Arthur – Man, Myth … or Both? into a 40,000 word, 110 page PDF ebook, which I’ll probably be posting on Scribd.

In these I shared my thoughts on my approach to looking for an ‘original’ Arthur. This I was doing for an idea for a screenplay I’m currently working on. I’ve written three already but haven’t been totally happy with any of them, so I went back to basics and did more research. The result was these two entitled. It is these works that make up the two parts of this PDF ebook.

I don’t pretend to be be a great writer or an expert on the Arthurian subject, but I hope I am adept enough and know enough to bring something new to the debate on the subject of whether or not there might have been a historical Arthur who was victor (or fought at) the battle of Mount Badon in the latter part of the 5th century. If I’ve achieved that I will be a happy man indeed.

With the exception of Christopher Gidlow (The Reign of Arthur 2003, Revealing King Arthur, 2006), most authors either try to pin the original Arthur to a known historical figure of the period (usually not with the name Arthur) or place him geographically in a region of Britain. I don’t do either. I only explore which known historical Arthur (there were several) he might have been, or at least could have been confused with, and whether or not the ‘original’ was an historical or a mythical figure … or whether both existed in conjunction with one another. I do explore what regions he could have been from (if he existed) but don’t go any further than that.

I hope that you find this of interest and, if you’re new the Arthurian subject, it spurs you on to want to discover more yourself.

Malcolm Wilson (aka Mak Wilson and badonicus)

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 responses to “King Arthur – Man, Myth … or Both? – The eBook

  1. Diane (@mabhmac)

    April 26, 2012 at 4:42 pm

    I like your approach. I think too many people think that there is a single truth out there, somehow concealed from us. And anything that shines a light on these people and their struggles in the early medieval period is wonderful, and fascinating. But stop researching and get that screenplay into production one day :)

    (Btw it’s Diane from Esmeralda’s Cumbrian History. Unfortunately, WordPress ID seems to be on strike.)

     
  2. badonicus

    April 26, 2012 at 4:56 pm

    Thanks Diane. I really would love to get the screenplay done, but other things keep getting in the way. The hardest part wouldn’t be writing it, but selling it! :(

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 107 other followers

